I’m Exhausted, Which is Good

After trying a couple of exercises for the last year, I’ve only found a few that truly make me exhausted. Most of those involved lifting a variety of weights in a certain amount of time (Crossfit), and I would be able to see improvement over the next few weeks in muscle size, and how much I was able to lift, but I felt sluggish and unable to do certain tasks. For example, before starting my cross fit exercising, I could do 20 pull-ups in a row after an entire workout. After doing cross fit for a few weeks, I was out of breath and energy after 5. Although I was stronger, I didn’t have practical muscles. So after viewing a calisthenics video, I decided that was a good route to try. Calisthenics is the use of you’re own body weight, and most muscles in your body, to control movements above the ground. There is a video below of what the mastery of calisthenics looks like. I found a few exercises, and adapted one of them so that I could do it at ball gym (also shown below). The first day I did it, I was able to complete it in 30 minutes, which was really surprising to me because of the amount of work it requires. However, I neglected to stretch altogether or do any sort of running before or after. So I was out of commission for the rest of the week. This Monday, I made sure to do things differently. I ran a half of a mile, stretched, completed the workout, and then stretched again. I cut my time down by 5 minutes (meaning I did it in 25 minutes) and I didn’t fell too bad the next day. Today, I went to the gym and did the same thing, only this time, I cut my time down another 2 minutes (meaning I did it in 23 minutes). I think the amount of time it takes is extremely important, because it pushes me to go faster, which means I’m increasing my speed as well, so I won’t feel the same sluggish feeling. However, after my workout today I went up and ran another lap, then did a group of ad exercises. I’m pretty sure I sweat about 2 lbs worth of sweat. But, I am exhausted, and faster, and stronger. Which is really all I wanted.

 

Workout (Estimated time 40 min):

Set 1: 10 push-ups, 20 squats, 5 pull-ups, 20 lunges

Set 2: 10 push-ups, 20 squats, 5 pull-ups, 20 lunges

Set 3: 10 push-ups, 20 squats, 5 pull-ups, 20 lunges

Set 4: 10 push-ups, 20 squats, 5 pull-ups, 15 lunges

Set 5: 10 push-ups, 20 squats, 5 pull-ups, 15 lunges

Set 6: 8 push-ups, 15 squats, 4 pull-ups, 10 lunges

Set 7: 8 push-ups, 15 squats, 4 pull-ups, 10 lunges

Set 8: 8 push-ups, 15 squats, 4 pull-ups, 10 lunges

Set 9: 6 push-ups, 10 squats, 3 pull-ups, 10 lunges

Set 10: 6 push-ups, 10 squats, 3 pull-ups, 10 lunges

Total: 86 Push-ups, 165 Squats, 43 Pull-ups, 140 Lunges

Leave a Reply

