How Healthy Am I

Over the past week, I have studied my general habits with the areas of wellness in mind.

Physical: This aspect was one of my stronger ones for the past week. I walk an average of four miles per day, exercise every other day, and eat plenty of healthy foods. In fact, since I knew I would be keeping track of what I was doing/eating, I ate healthy all week long with no fast food,  and plenty of fruits and vegetables. I am no where near my peak physical wellness, but it’s not a bad start. I weigh 155 lb, have a B.M.I. of 21, meaning I am in the middle of my weight/height range (http://www.cdc.gov/healthyweight/assessing/bmi/adult_bmi/index.html). My blood pressure is usually around 105/70, which is also not too shabby (http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/HighBloodPressure/AboutHighBloodPressure/Understanding-Blood-Pressure-Readings_UCM_301764_Article.jsp). The only thing I should be doing better on at this point is getting more restful sleep, and drinking more water. There’s a lot more I need to be doing, but that’s still to come.

Intellectual: At the beginning of this semester, I made it my unreasonable goal to go into finals week with 100% in all of my classes. My actual goal is to not have to take any finals if I don’t want to.  I have cut down immensely on the amount of T.V. I watch, games I play, and other temporary wastes of time. I didn’t watch too much to begin with, but I’m attempting to limit myself to one hour a day, although somedays it’s more like two. That doesn’t seem too bad. So, I’ve started putting more effort into classes where I usually could just breeze by and end with a low A. Although, it gets a little mundane and boring.

Emotional: The only real emotional things I have to deal with are stress and loneliness. To fix the former, I have started just doing things that need to be done, when they need to be done. No more procrastinating for no good reason. If something needs cleaned, I clean it. It doesn’t take as long as I think usually, and I feel a lot better when it’s done. However, there is a lot to do overall, so this will be a long process. There are a lot of things I’ve put off for a while. The other problem will probably just have to stick around for a while. It’s just always there, even if I’m surrounded by people. Oh well.

Social: I hate waking up at 5 in the morning. But, it’s the only way I can do speech. I hate not having any time for dinner before going to rehearsal. But it’s the only way I can do theatre. I hate asking for permission to goof off with friends. But, again, it’s necessary. This is my last semester, I’m not going to pass up an opportunity unless I absolutely have to.

Spiritual: I’m not a very spiritual person, but I believe that people need belief in something. I really enjoy meditating a lot, because I can think of things that I should believe in. Various truths like the good in people (even though I really hate people sometimes), the benefit of the doubt, forgiveness, and the need for adventure. I have some apologies to make before the year is up, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. Spiritual wellness is probably going to be the easiest thing to reach peak wellness with, but it’ll take the most out of me. I’m thinking that I should make a list of people I need to apologize to… Kind of like My Name Is Earl.

Environmental: Muncie isn’t too bad of a town pollution wise, and I had a really hard time trying to think of what I could do to improve my environmental wellness. Then I realized, Muncie is my home, and my home needs some cleaning. There isn’t a ton of trash around Muncie, but it’s a large enough amount that I can’t do it all on my own. I wish I could think of someway to just get everyone to go outside and clean up the area outside their house. I figure this would take 5 minutes per person, but probably less than that. 5 minutes for 70,087 people, that’s 350, 435 minutes, or 5,841 hours, or 243 days. 243 days worth of work in 5 minutes, now that would be impressive. I’ll try and work on that. But, for now, I’ll just do my own five minutes every day.

It’s really hard to be completely honest in this, but I figure it’s the best way for true improvement. I have a lot of things to do, so I figure I’ll write one of these full reflections every month. There isn’t a lot of actual change that can take place in two weeks, but I will do partial ones if anything of importance comes up.

The main thing giving me motivation through this is a song lyric that I’ve decided to shape my life around. “You can fade out, or burn like the sun.” Time to burn. SO cheesy. Oh well, it’s my blog.

Leave a Reply

